Skip to content

19 Comments

  1. Nathalie Soeteman
    January 1, 2010 @ 4:45 pm

    Hi Deidre,

    Thanks a lot for sharing! Groundswell is a must read! It outlines the full SMM scope, from strategy to tactics. At the moment I’m reading Chris Anderson’s famous work The Long Tail (http://bit.ly/7TsMzf) and I’m planning on reading:

    * Measuring Public Relationships: The Data-Driven Communicator’s Guide to Success by Katie Delahaye Paine (http://bit.ly/7zyrtp; didn’t you talk about @kdpaine in Rotterdam? 😉 )
    * Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media, and Blogs (The New Rules of Social Media) by Brian Halligan (Author), Dharmesh Shah (Author) and David Meerman Scott (Foreword) (http://bit.ly/8SuX5J)
    * Get Content Get Customers: Turn Prospects into Buyers with Content Marketing by Joe Pulizzi & Newt Barrett (http://bit.ly/6bssSR)
    * Socialnomics: How social media transforms the way we live and do business by Erik Qualman (http://bit.ly/7lHk2m)

    Some more suggestions: http://bit.ly/74XPi8

    Kind regards,
    Nathalie

  2. David Meerman Scott
    January 1, 2010 @ 7:04 pm

    Hey Deirdre, Great list. It is an honor for one of my books to be on it. Hope you enjoy World Wide Rave. David

  3. Justin Levy
    January 1, 2010 @ 8:06 pm

    You rock! It’s as simple as that! Thanks for including my book in the list of books you’re going to read this year. I guess I better finish it up then so you’ll have something to read! 🙂

  4. Deirdre
    January 1, 2010 @ 8:13 pm

    Hi David! Thanks 🙂 I can’t wait to read your book. I’ve heard good things about it. Happy New Year and hope you have a great 2010!

  5. Deirdre
    January 1, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

    Hi Justin! Thank you. I’m very excited to read your book. So, yes, you’d better hurry and finish! This is going to be an exciting year for you with your first book being published. I wish you all the best!

  6. Deirdre
    January 1, 2010 @ 8:19 pm

    Hi Nathalie, your book suggestions are awesome. I read Chris Anderson’s The Long Tail and thought it was really good. Also a must read. Let me know what you think about Katie’s book, Measuring Public Relations. I’ll add it to my list for the first half of 2010. There are so many great books and never enough time 🙂

  7. Erik Qualman
    January 2, 2010 @ 2:13 pm

    What a great list to kick off the new year Deirdre. I’m digitally blushing that Socialnomics made such a great list. I hope you enjoy my book and more importantly I hope you enjoy 2010!

    Cheers, Erik

  8. Deirdre
    January 2, 2010 @ 6:44 pm

    Hi Erik! Thank you 🙂 I’m really looking forward to reading your book and reviewing it on my blog. I hope you have a fantastic year filled with good health, happiness and much success!

  9. Brian Solis
    January 4, 2010 @ 9:11 am

    I’m looking forward to what’s next for us! 🙂

  10. Deirdre
    January 4, 2010 @ 11:13 am

    Brian, Happy New Year and I’m looking forward to what’s next too!!

  11. Neal Schaffer
    January 4, 2010 @ 6:08 pm

    Hey Deirdre,

    Happy New Year! This is @Fogfish’s friend, Neal…we met at the San Diego #PRSA Tweetup. It is an honor that my book made your reading list for 2010. I also created a blog post of my top recommended social media books for 2009, which included your work with Brian Solis (hope he didn’t mind the photo I used where he is about to uncork a bottle of champagne!):

    http://windmillnetworking.com/2009/12/01/top-15-recommended-social-media-books-of-2009/

    You may have already read some of these, but hopefully you’ll find some new ones as well.

    I’m excited about the two books that you have put on your list to be published in 2010…I’ll keep on the lookout for them!

    I also plan to review more books on my blog this year, so looking forward to comparing notes!

    Best regards,
    @NealSchaffer

  12. Deirdre
    January 4, 2010 @ 6:25 pm

    Hi Neal! Happy New Year! It’s so nice to hear from you and I really enjoyed our conversation in San Diego. The photo with Brian is great and brings back really good memories of a fun night. Thanks for sharing your list of books and I’m thrilled that Putting the Public in Public Relations made your reading list 🙂 I look forward to reading your book and also comparing book review notes with you.

  13. Dwayne Kilbourne
    January 5, 2010 @ 2:40 am

    I must commend you on such a nice list as well, Deirdre! I am currently reading three of those on your list (Groundswell, Socialnomics, and Tribes), and I will be working on two others (Free and World Wide Rave) after I read their early works in their entirety! As for the others, I will ponder adding them to my ever-growing list based on this recommendation!

    Happy New Year!

  14. Deirdre
    January 5, 2010 @ 9:09 am

    Hi Dwayne! Happy New Year 🙂 Thanks for commenting on my book list. I’m really excited with my book choices and I’ve heard all good things about the books you’ve mentioned. If you come across any other good books, please feel free to share them with me. I working on the the list for the 2nd half of my year. Happy reading!

  15. Brett Cornell
    January 11, 2010 @ 9:11 pm

    I have read these three. All really good choices if you want to stick to pure social marketing. I think Groundswell is the best, tribes is always a winner thanks to Seth Godin. I read the Wired article that inspired Free. All on the top of my favorites list from 2009.

    I am reading some others now too. Check out my Linkedin – Brett Cornell.

    Thanks for the list — keep it ocming as you read more!

    Groundswell by Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff
    Free: The Future of a Radical Price by Chris Anderson
    Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin

  16. Elisabeth R
    January 11, 2010 @ 10:37 pm

    I love Socialnomics. Great book. I learned about it in class when my professor played the Youtube video!! 🙂

  17. Deirdre
    January 12, 2010 @ 9:41 am

    Hi Elisabeth, I’m looking forward to reading socialnomics. Was just talking about the book on Twitter and checked out a good review at http://bit.ly/50Rj7u. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the book!

  18. Deirdre
    January 12, 2010 @ 9:43 am

    Hi Brett! I’ve heard so many great things about Groundswell. Heard less about Tribes and Free but still really looking forward to reading those books. I enjoyed Chris Anderson’s The Long Tail and thought it was an excellent book. I’ll have to check out your LinkedIn list 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the books and we can compare notes down the road!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: