Skip to content

9 Comments

  1. Shari Weiss
    January 1, 2010 @ 4:36 pm

    Deirdre,
    I’m glad that Wiley chose you to review Shiv Singh’s book. Your breadth of knowledge — as a university PR professor AND as a very active social media proponent [co-author of “Putting the Public Back in PR” — lends a huge degree of credibility to your opinions.

    I liked the organization and balance in your review and very much agree that PR is so much more than mere “media relations.”

    It’s too bad, though, that you’ve never read any other Dummy books; I believe they have a valuable place in our culture. My own experience with “newbies” in social media and many other fields is that beginners love the kind of “hand-holding” provided by the structure of these books.

    Looking forward to the other reviews you have planned for 2010.
    Shari Weiss

  2. Deirdre
    January 1, 2010 @ 8:24 pm

    Hi Shari! I know, when I think about it…I can’t believe that Social Media Marketing for Dummies was my first experience in the Dummy series. I agree, these books are really good for “newbies” in SM and many other fields. I really enjoyed Singh’s book. Thanks for the great feedback on my review. I love to read and review books and it’s so great to know that my reviews are helpful.

  3. Shiv Singh
    January 10, 2010 @ 9:51 am

    Deirdre, Thank you for your thoughtful book review. Maybe I didn’t do the PR space justice in the book. Its certainly fodder for thought. Best, Shiv

  4. David Farrell-Shaw
    January 10, 2010 @ 10:02 am

    I agree it is a really good book.

  5. Deirdre
    January 10, 2010 @ 2:51 pm

    Hi Shiv! My pleasure 🙂 I thought your book was really good and value you opinions. I also think it’s good for PR professionals to see the varying opinions and raise the bar! We’re working hard to learn, embrace and use social media communications, so we can properly educate our brands. Great job on the book 🙂

  6. Wilfred Heggins
    February 3, 2010 @ 7:56 am

    Hi thanks a lot for a perceptive post, I actually found your blog by mistake while looking on Goole for something else closely related, anyhow before i ramble on too much i would just like to state how much I enjoyed your post, I have bookmarked your site and also taken your RSS feed, Once Again thanks for the blog post keep up the good work.

  7. Deirdre
    February 3, 2010 @ 9:59 am

    Hi Wilfred! Thanks for commenting and I’m glad that you found my blog and liked the post. I appreciate the feedback. I look forward to talking with you more about PR 2.0 and social media communications.

  8. Kyle Bailey
    October 6, 2010 @ 2:25 am

    social media marketing is very popular on Facebook but FB is stricter now:”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: